top of page

Partner Journal Prompt


This is a journal prompt to share with someone. Each person picks 5 words (any five words; snatch the first five than come to mind) and gives these words to their partner. The partner must then write a poem that includes all five words.


This is a great exercise in being spontaneously creative; it's also incredibly human, since you're given 5 random words and challenged to make sense of them all together. What is more human than encountering many different experiences and bits of information and having to fit them into a coherent story?


Here are the words I chose for my mom:

Element

Poppy

Ensconced

Ease

Trust



Here's the poem she wrote:


Poppy is a man I know.

Richard is his given name

which I always called by- by the way-

until realizing that only

family

called him Poppy.

And I was invited.

Element of trust

ensconced by family

ease of familiarity.

Poppy.










Here are the words my mom gave me:

Hypothetical

Crossword

Pinecone

Hummingbird

Love


My partner poem:


Crosswords of thought wind through the air,

unspoken hypotheticals intersecting.

Amid all the sweet din of life,

this family

is a hummingbird blur, the daughters

going but always zipping back,

coming home,

girl tree-seeds with the sense to return.

Home:

A love cone, a parent pinecone

that always has space

for the life it created.





















A non-blurred, non-hummingbird photo of the wonderful family that my poem is about:



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page