top of page

Journal prompt: Blue




Immerse yourself in blue by journaling in blue ink while listening to Joni Mitchell’s “Blue”:

“Blue. Songs are like tattoos. You know I’ve been to sea before, crown and anchor me….”

-Joni Mitchell, "Blue" (1971)


Eat some blueberries.


Read Maggie Nelson’s Bluets:

“I have met a man who is the primary grower of organic indigo in the world, and another who sings Joni Mitchell’s ‘Blue’ in heartbreaking drag, and another with the face of a derelict whose eyes literally leaked blue.”

-Maggie Nelson, Bluets (2004)



Using Joni’s song as a three minute timer, play "Blue" while writing about what you associate with blue. Where does mention of the color take you? Why?





Playlist bonus: Get sonic with the Blue playlist I curated



Reading bonus: Check out my list of blue must-reads here.



From Samantha Hunt's 2004 novel _The Seas_


Creative writing prompt bonus:

Using the digits of your birthday, create a poem in which each number corresponds to a line of your poem. The first digit of your birth date will determine what corresponding word you use in your first line. Your second line will start with the word that corresponds to the second digit of your birth date.


For example, my birth date is 12/23/1986 so my first line will begin with the first word of the lyrics of "Blue," listed below. My second line will begin with the second word of "Blue." My third line will begin with that same second word; my fourth line will begin with the third word of "Blue," and on and on.


Blue(1) Crater Lake I see you deepest lake from childhood memories, unfathomable blue.

Songs(2) have depth but do they sound tone, jewel tone?

Song(2) of songs, richest blue of that lake.

Are(3) you singing to me in a bass, watery stillness, lake from long ago?

Blue(1) howl sounds:

Been(9) in my heart, have you? No stranger, that cry blue of Crater Lake.

(etc.)



Blue songs are like tattoos You know I've been to sea before

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12


Don’t like your birth date? Pick your birth month or your middle name, and use the same formula


Blue songs are like tattoos You know I've been to sea before crown

A B C D E F G H I J K L M


And anchor me Or let me sail away Hey Blue And there is

N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page