top of page

Crafts for paper hoarders!


I am drowning in paper scraps. Between collaging, cutting out paper for journal pages, and removing the original pages of books, I use a lot of paper. But most of the time I don't use the entire piece. When it comes to the original pages of the hardcover books that I use for my journals, I often use only a few of those pages in the journal's new binding. Because I find it difficult to throw away decorative paper, paper with fun images, book innards with strange sentences or glorious pictures, I save it all. I'm a paper hoarder, there, I said it.


But you benefit from this!


Because I always have too much paper that I can't bear to throw away, I offer this blog as a partial list of craft ideas that make use of paper scraps.











Behold:

1. Flameless candles with sentence strips


I made these by cutting into strips some book pages, and then putting a few into a globe jar. I found some flameless candles on sale at my local craft store, and they sealed the deal. You can make these without the flameless candles, but the glowing ones look so much more elegant at night. I varied the shape the paper strips took in the jar by twisting them into spirals or circles.


You'll need:

Scissors or a paper cutter

The paper you plan on cutting into strips

Jars

Perhaps some flameless candles








2. Decoupaged box (or ANYTHING: ornament, bowl, bookmark....the possibilities are endless)






I made this by cutting what felt like hundreds of strips of old book pages into sentences. Then, using Mod Podge, I glued each strip onto the box making sure to cover any visible surface area. Don't skimp with the Mod Podge; it helps give the finished product a solid sheen.






You'll need:

Scissors or a paper cutter

The paper you plan on cutting into strips

A brush, rag, sponge, or similar applicator for the Mod Podge

Mod Podge decoupage glue






3. Paper weave journal cover





This is the most complicated of the craft projects. You could make this paper weave on any flat surface (a framed picture or a bookmark) but I plan on turning mine into the covers of a coptic journal. I cut strips of paper that were roughly the same diameter (key is that they are consistently straight lines; you want the sides of your strips of paper to line up perfectly when you align them next to each other). Then, using a glue stick, I started on the top right hand corner and glued strips to the top and to the side.


You'll need:

Scissors or a paper cutter

A glue stick

The paper you plan on cutting into strips

A board (I cut my own from a larder piece of cardboard)






You'll want to cover the finished project if you don't plan on framing it in glass or if you plan on using it. You could cover it in contact paper or use Mod Podge to protect the paper from wear.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page